Day 23- 365 Things to do in Bellingham, WA – Bellingham’s Best Hike: Blanchard Hill, Bat Caves and Oyster Dome

Being disabled I don’t hike any more, but my friend and associate Rob LeRoy does and this is a post he wrote. I must agree Blanchard Mountain was always one of my favorite hikes when I was still hiking.

I’m a big fan of hiking. I don’t do it nearly as often as I would like to, but such is life.  My personal favorite hiking area is Blanchard Hill. It’s got it all: Views, lakes, forested sections and open areas. More variety than any other hike I’ve found.  Located on Chuckanut Mountain, (south of Bellingham between I-5 and Chuckanut Drive) Blanchard Hill is one of the area’s most beautiful natural landscapes and offers some of the best hikes and views around.  With several trails, Blanchard Hill offers hikes ranging from relaxing and quiet to slightly grueling.

There are multiple trails and access points, depending on the level of distance and difficulty you are looking for. It is possible to hike from the bottom, via Chuckanut Drive, or drive to a lookout about halfway up, then continue to the peak from there. There are a couple of small lakes (Lily and Lizard) along the way, depending on which trails you take.

From the parking area, the trail (part of the famous Pacific Northwest Trail) winds up toward a series of bat caves, and then up to the top, known as Oyster Dome. The views from Oyster Dome are unparalleled. Be warned, it’s a tough hike, but worth every sweaty step. The reviews I’d read before my first attempt sounded daunting, but it wasn’t too bad. My 11 year-old daughter made it up just fine… She also had no problem sitting right up near the edge at the top. I, however, clung to a nearby tree and occasionally peaked over the side. What can I say, I’m afraid of heights and I love to hike. I’m also afraid of water but love being on boats. To each their own, as they say…

This post originally published by Rob LeRoy at realestate.bellingham.net

This entry was posted in 365 Things to do in Bellingham and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

